Record Entries for 50th Edition

June 2, 2023

A record number of entries have been received for the 50th edition of the NT City to Surf.


Australia’s longest continuing fun run will celebrate it’s 50th edition this weekend in the best way possible – with record numbers.

At the closing of entries, more than 1900 have signed up to one of the three events on offer this Sunday in the NT Santos City2Surf, making it the biggest roll up of entries in the history of the event.

Beginning in 1974, the iconic event has been staged annually since, gallantly managing to still fire the starting gun throughout the depths of COVID, much to the envy of many other events across the country.

 “The whole running community in the Top End is excited for Sunday. Lot’s of people have been and are still involved in the event, as it takes a lot to bring it all together,” first time Race Director Leanne Chin said.

The 40thedition attracted 1816 finishers, it was the year the traditional course returned. Starting on The Esplanade and finishing at Nightcliff Pool. The course has remained the same for the past decade.

Of all the memorable events, Chin recalls the drama of 2021 edition.

“2021 was memorable for many reasons. We had Rob de Castella’s Indigenous Marathon Foundation team there, over 100 of them, plus Olympian Milly Clark racing the boys. But it was the snap lockdown that day which was remarkable. We’d just finished packing up and got the news to head home, there was no time for the team to get a drink together, it was straight home. We were the luckiest event organisers in the world that day,” Chin recalled.

 Females once again dominatethe entries overallthis year, with 53% of total entries.While the Territory HealthFund 12km is the most popular distance with close to 1000 set to embark on thetraditional distance.

 Continuing the trend of attracting Southerners, entries have been received from all states of Australia. It’ll be a pleasant trip for many, as a cold snap hits much of the nation with winter hitting today.

At the pointy end, it’s likely to be a local affair though. The men’s race will see Tim Hewitt aim to take his 4thstraight crown, but he’ll have to fend off Jason Hamilton, Clive Baxter, Mick Fallon and John Halliday.

Cicely Brown will hope to go one better than her second placing last year. She’ll have to do battle with 2011 event winner Emma Kraft who is making the trip up from Victor Harbour, along with Kate Bramley, Samantha Gates, Hayley Barber, Maddy Reid and Petra Melis-Walsh.

All events finish at the Nightcliff Pool and the event timetable is;

• 6:45am: 12km Start - Wave 1 (sub 70minrunners)

• 6:50am: 12km Start - Wave 2(over 70min runners)

•  7:30am: 4km Start- Runners

• 7:35am: 4km Start - Walkers

•  8:45am - 1.195km Start Marathon4Kids

More information available at

Are you ready for the 51st annual nt city2surf ?

Sunday, 2 June 2024
2022 results